Music

20 Feb

My header may say that I like music, but I don’t think I’ve ever really talked about it. I have music running through my veins. My dad is a musician, and I’ve grown up with musicians my entire life. So it’s no surprise that I ended up a musician. I play violin and have been since I was 8. I’m going to school at a small college in my hometown for music. Unfortunately I can only get an associates at this school, so next year I’m planning on transferring to another school about 2 hours away from here. Thankfully, my aunt lives there so I get free room and board yay.

Ok now for the good stuff. My favorite modern rock band is Kill Hannah. A close second is the Yeah Yeah Yeahs. I love Kill Hannah because their music speaks to me so much. It is the perfect thing to listen to when you feel all alone. I got a chance to see them for the first time last year in Atlanta. I’m part of the fan club, the KHK, so I got to meet them before the show. They are the nicest group of guys you could ever meet. They wanted to know our opinion about promoting the band and their album that was coming out a few weeks later. And not to mention, I have quite a crush on the singer, Mat Devine!! Check out this picture of us:
Trust me, the picture doesn’t do it justice lol. My favorite song on their new album, Wake Up The Sleepers, is Why I Have My Grandma’s Sad Eyes. Mostly, because of the line that says “Universe, wrap your arms around me. Make me strong, so I can take on anyone.” For some reason it just empowers me and makes feel like I can do anything. Check them out here.

I also love the Yeah Yeah Yeahs. Karen O is just crazy and the music they make is out there, but it makes me happy and want to dance around. Unfortunately I haven’t had the chance to see them, yet. So no pictures or interesting stories, but I will see them at some point lol.

I love to see local bands. My favorite is Oh Dorian and Parachute Musical. Oh Dorian consists of one girl, Heather, and her keyboard. She is the nicest person, and has the loudest, most contagious laugh, but her music is so morbid/depressing. Again one of those things I listen to when I’m down and out. I’m starting to notice a theme. Parachute Musical is one of those up beat bands that I love to listen to. Again, a very nice group of guys. Here’s a picture of both bands. Click on the pictures for a link to their myspaces:

Well, that’s about it for this round of my favorite music. More to come
I want to know who some of your favorite bands are? I love finding new music.

xoxo
Coop

I like getting to know you. Leave a comment...

