A very hard week for me.

17 Feb

So my grandfather died Thursday. We thought he was doing well, but I guess not well enough. He got an infection from sores in his mouth due to the radiation/chemo. It was the infection that killed him. Until 2:30 p.m. Thursday he seemed ok, then it all went downhill. He became septic, no immune system, and was unable to breathe normally. He passed around 10 p.m. Thursday night.

I never knew how many people’s lives Pop had touched until his funeral. Our biggest worry for the funeral was if we would have enough seating. Well we were right and there wasn’t. There was a ton of people standing around the edges of the church wanting to pay their last respects to him. He was in the Air Force during Vietnam, so he had a flag on his casket. I’m glad they didn’t do the 21 guns salute, I don’t know if I could have handled that.

Pop was a very religious man. Not the kind that shoves God down your throat, but the kind that shows nothing but kindness and respect to anyone and everyone he meets. We couldn’t go to a restraurant without waiting an hour to eat because he would stop to talk to everyone he knew, and sometimes didn’t even know lol. Needless to say he was a great man, and even better grandfather. I miss him a lot, but he prepared us for what was going to happen. We all knew where he was going, and I knew my grandmother would be there waiting for him.

I like to think that he is still around me in spirit. Even though he can’t talk back, I feel that I can still talk to him, and feel like everything is going to be ok. I feel like I’m being selfish for this, but I wish he had stuck around until my birthday (16 days from today). Oh well I know he will be there in spirit.

Sorry for this being such a depressing post, but I think putting all of my emotions out there may help me to heal even more. Here is my favorite picture of Pop and I. It’s after my graduation, and I think it is the sweetest moment I’ve ever shared with him. I love you Pop. RIP Thurmond Russell Cooper “Pop”
P.S. don’t mind the crazy hair, it had been a long day lol

xoxo
Coop

I like getting to know you. Leave a comment...

